During the MTV Video Music Awards, Taylor Swift received the prize for video of the year for the song You need to calm down . Ariana Grande has been named artist of the year.

The show in New Jersey was opened by Swift with the pro-LGBTQ song in a performance full of rainbows. She thanked her fans who chose this song. “That means that you too want a world where everyone is equal before the law.”

Both Talor Swift and Ariana Grande both had ten nominations in advance.

The South Korean boy band BTS was named best group, they were also allowed to take home an award for the song Boy with luv in the best K-Pop video category.

Bilie Eilish was named best newcomer.

Other prizes went to: Old town road by Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus (song of the year), Sucker by the Jonas Brothers (best pop), Money by Candi B (best hip hop) and Panic! At The Disco with High Hopes(best rock). Missy Elliott received the Vanguard award for her entire career.