The musical ‘Aladdin’ won the most prizes at the presentation of the Musical Awards in Rotterdam Ahoy on Thursday. Stage Entertainment’s production won in seven of a total of nineteen categories, including Best Major Musical. In addition, ‘Aladdin’ also received the audience award for best production of the past year.

Stanley Burleson won a Musical Award for the fourth time in his career, this time for Best Actor in a Major Musical for his role as the Ghost in Aladdin . Roberto de Groot received the prize for best supporting actor for his portrayal of Jafar and Dave Rijnders won the award for upcoming talent with his role as Omar. Aladdin also won the prizes for best choreography, best music and best translation (Erik van Muiswinkel).

Nyassa Alberta won the prize for best female lead in a major musical for her portrayal of Tina Turner in TINA . Willemijn Verkaik ( Come From Away) was allowed to pick up the same statue, but then in the category for small musicals and Sven Ratzke (The Rocky Horror Show) received the award for best male lead in a small musical. Dorien van Gent ( He Believes In Mij ) was awarded in the category best supporting actress.

The Rocky Horror Show won the prize for best small musical and 14th Musical , about the life of Johan Cruijff, won an award for best original Dutch musical. It was previously announced that Pia Douwes would receive the Oeuvre Musical Award.

The Musical Awards were presented for the twentieth time this year. The jury consisted of Jon van Eerd, Hilde Scholten, Arno Gelder, Dianne Zuidema, Joy Kreiken, Maurice Luttikhuis, Michiel de Regt, Henriëtte Tol and Rennie Rijpma..